VIC Time Attack

Easter is usually a  quiet time relaxing with family and hunting for Easter eggs. But for a small number of dedicated enthusiasts, Easter this year was spent doing something a little more interesting…battling it out at Winton Raceway for the Hankook Vic Time Attack.


With WTAC offering a professional platform for Time Attack, its great to see a smaller event run under the same rules and having competitors from interstate come down for the event like the Hankook/Royal Purple/IS Motor Racing Evo.


Melbourne locals like John Richardson and Jason Dorrington did outstanding jobs in their RWD machines. John Richardson set a quick 1.32.3390 best time in his r33 Skyline .


We saw the Topstage/Maztech RX7 at WTAC and it proved to be just as good on the smaller Winton track clocking 1.31.1840.


Road Track Rally brought out their RTR Evo X demo car and did a 1.31.1370 showing how well built their Evo is.


It was the interstate competitors which dominated the event though. The BYP Integra driven by Benny Tran blew away the competition posting a 1.26.8670 at the start of the day before having some issues with the gearbox.


After some fixes, the BYP crew kept a close eye on the car and left their best til the shootout posting a blistering 1.26.5680. Putting this into perspective, they are just shy of the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge lap record of 1.26.4574.


The OTR/EXE Evo 9 of Jim Seng Tu was the only other car to set a PB during the final shootout beating his previous best of 1.33.1420 with 1.33.0840. Evos dominated the pits with both new and old models competing.


The only other car to dip under the 1.30s was the mental Mackrell 260z which was barely recognisable with the wide aero package.


The only female competitor was Yolanda Manny in her clean Evo 8 RS setting a blistering pace of 1:35.3740. Great to see her mixing it with the guys and hopefully encourages more girls to build and enter time attack events.


Unfortunately, the only Godzilla present was the lone R33.


The next time attack event will be held in Sydney’s Wakefield park on June 22 & 23, 2013.




Comments are closed.